Safe Agua Peru Team to Attend The Tech Awards 12th Annual Gala

Back to all News

November 8, 2012

On Thursday evening, November 15, 2012, an anticipated audience of 1,400 will gather in Silicon Valley for The Tech Awards 12th Annual Gala.

Mariana Prieto (Product Design ’12),  Kimberly Chow (Product Design) and Jonathan Beckhardt, (MBA Candidate 2013, USC Marshall School of Business) will be in attendance to accept the Katherine M. Swanson Young Innovators Award, for their work on the Safe Agua Peru project.

The Safe Agua Peru project, hosted by the Environmental Design Department, was headed by faculty Dan Gottlieb and Penny Herscovitch (Environmental Design),  Liliana Becerra (Product Design), Julka Almquist (Humanities & Design Sciences).

Students  from Product Design, Graphic Design, Environmental Design and Broadcast Cinema all worked together with families from Cerro Verde, Peru, to come up with viable and cost effective solutions to the water poverty problem in the community.   Prototype testing in the field, led by Product Design student Mariana Prieto  with the families of Cerro Verde and the Un Techo team was a key driver of some of the success of the award-winning design outcomes of the project such as  GiraDora and Balde a Balde, which are the two key stellar innovations from Safe Agua Peru being recognized by this award.  The Laureates are Kim Chow, Alex Robert Cabunoc, Ji A You, Mariana Prieto and Jonathan Beckhardt (MBA Candidate 2012 USC Marshall School of Business)  who are also now part of the 2 NCIIA E-Teams that continue forward incubating these projects.

The Tech Awards are a signature program of the Tech Museum in San Jose, CA  that honors individuals, non-profit organizations and for-profit companies who are using technology to significantly improve human conditions in 6 awards categories. Click here for more information about this year’s laureates.

The Designmatters Department at Art Center is deeply proud for the ongoing accomplishment of all involved in the Safe Agua Peru initiative.

The Tech Awards 12th Annual Gala will take place at the  Santa Clara Convention Center.  For more info or to purchase tickets click here.